I Love (insert city here) !!!

We all should take a second to really think about this.

New Yorkers are in a hurry… For what who knows. Maybe a train to nowhere because all I ever see are New Yorkers running to their next destination, but when you talk to them they don’t go anywhere other than work. They hate they city. They hate tourist. They love to have the best worst story about how tough their life as a New Yorker is. It’s just plain masochistic. The looks l get from co-workers and friends when I talk about how I just stumbled onto a great place to eat or an amazing concert or how I completely missed getting rained on because my trains came timed perfectly are downright ugly. They are mix of surprise, disdain and overall “I wanna shank this guy for being so happy”. Every time I answer my phone at work and its someone from another property they ask the typical “How are you doing?” and I always give the same response. ” It’s a beautiful day in New York City”. At this point I am pretty sure they are just praying I have a bad day so they don’t have to hear me say it one more time.

Times Square for New Years…been there …done that

Visit the sites? Fuhgedabout it!!  Mention Times Square to a New Yorker and you will hear a rant about tourists and what a mess it is or about how they remember when you could get a 10 dollar hooker in Times Square and they say this as if it were the good old days… For those wondering I am not sure what that rate is in today’s market with inflation and the economy and all…They don’t mention the amazing cross section of people from all over the world, the amazing shows just a block away on Broadway. Very rarely do they discuss the marvels that this city offers. They seem to have a been there done that attitude,except when you ask them about places, they have neither been there nor done that. Now maybe this is because as I am sure most of you know New York is not the cheapest place to live. Broadway tickets can be insanely expensive. But there are so many free things to explore. There is Summerstage a free summer concert and entertainment series that happens in all 5 boroughs with amazing talent. There is SummerStreets where they close down streets from the Brooklyn Bridge all the way up to Central Park so only walkers and cyclist can roam the streets. I regularly go on “walkabouts” or “goosechases” as my wife likes to call them where I basically grab a backpack my phone, a camera, my ipad and go walking in search of the beauty of everything and nothing. I have run into celebrities (quite literally..sorry Bieber..the elbow just happened to extend), stumbled into parades, found places I always wanted to go but didn’t even know i was walking to, found the most amazing street art and messages on sidewalks that seemed to be put there just for me. I may not have been everywhere or done everything yet but it sure isn’t for lack of trying.

The Belly of the Beast ..I will admit that New York can be a physically and mentally taxing beast ready to devour you like you were a breakfast taco on a sunday morning. Everyone has those rough weeks but in New York you can have a rough week in the span of an hour and what seems like a rough year in the span of a day. It challenges, it pushes, it sometimes breaks people. The city can be intense. If you don’t watch out you can find yourself getting caught up in it and fighting your way to get into a completely full train instead of waiting 4 minutes for the next one. People fight for cabs, for a way to get out of the city on a long weekend. The rush is on to get everywhere and nowhere. This is,i think part of that whole saying ” if you can make it in New York you can make it anywhere.”

The thing is that I am not sure how many of the New Yorkers could make it anywhere. If you can’t wait 5 minutes for a train without thinking its the end of the world how could you possibly survive waiting 30 minutes for a bus in the Texas heat. If you can’t deal with an afternoon thunderstorm without thinking that Noah will be on his way in a few minutes to pick up some animals then how are you going to deal with a Florida hurricane. If you can’t handle an earthquake that was actually in DC how are you going to handle when you’re in California and suddenly you discover your now an island and Nevada has some great ocean front property.

How can you not want to explore a city that has scenes like this.

Now I do know some amazing New Yorkers who drink every drop of life the city has to offer. Karen Seiger whom I have had the pleasure of meeting in my adventures writes a blog about the amazing Markets of New York and unknowingly plots out my next adventures most weekends. I highly recommend her book and blog to anyone in the city and tourists looking for a more “local” experience. I have another friend Bobbie originally from San Antonio Texas ,who takes strolls through the park and  goes to Broadway shows and tries to catch any celebrity she can and she usually ends up with a picture or two of her and the celebrity hamming it up together.( As i was putting this blog together she posted a picture of her with her favorite Olympian that she took on the streets of Manhattan!! ) And there is Noellia who is always going all over town seeing shows and performing in them as an amazing actress with an amazing voice. She came to make her dreams come true and is making it happen. To me they are all role models for my New York life. Karen for always exploring and promoting new experiences and local goods and farm fresh products, Bobbie for her sheer enthusiasm of all the city has to offer but still clinging to her Texas roots and Noellia for showing that with determination and talent you can make your dreams reality in this city.

This is what New York is all about…

If your reading this and you’re not living in New York ( sorry for that..really just move here already it’s amazing) don’t think “those silly New Yorkers not exploring that amazing city.” Start looking at where you live and ask yourself if you are taking in all the beauty and amazing things in your hometown. When I lived in San Antonio I made sure I hit every single great spot for food and fun I could. In Austin I can’t think of a festival that I ever missed while I was there. Take life in. Breathe it in deep and enjoy every second of it. I love New York and I challenge you to love where ever it is that you’re at. And if you can’t think of something to love about where you live then let me know and I am pretty sure I can find something for you…unless you live in Arkansas or Oklahoma.

Leave a comment